A visit to the Doctor

Today’s blog will be a short one as I am taking Mischief to see the doctor this morning. It’s something I’ve been putting off for a while, as I neither want to admit there’s a problem, not enjoy talking about it if I’m honest, but yesterday we reached a point where I have accepted I am out of my depth.

Mischief -I think – suffers from a condition called encopresis. In a nutshell, he can’t feel himself going to the toilet so has an ‘accident’ every time. For a long time (he’s almost 5) I have put it down to laziness or just general naughtiness, as he never has an accident at nursery and very rarely has one out of the house, but I’ve come to the conclusion he may be holding it in when out, which in turn may be causing constipation. So off to the doctors we go. Even if it is psychological rather than a physical problem, hopefully we can get some help. He starts school in three weeks and I really don’t want this to continue. I will have more on this tomorrow when we have seen the GP.

In knitting news I am half way down the first sleeve of the Ravelympic jumper – it’s the fist time in the pattern I have encountered a hitch. The pattern calls for 64 stitches to be picked up along the sleeve edge and then 114 rows to be knitted. I picked up a stitch on every row along the sleeve edge and there was only 39 stitches. I carried on anyway and it looks OK. I can’t pick up stitches that aren’t there! And I am 51 rows in, and it’s nearly to the end of my arm so I don’t think there will be any need for 114 rows. I have short arms, so maybe this is just me. I’ll measure it later.

I finished my Travelling Scarf ready to be posted today, and another one arrived. I’m a bit less enthusiastic about this one – the owner of this one has been very specific and I kind of think this goes against the spirit and creativity of it. If she wanted a 100% cotton, green, specific lace pattern scarf then she could have knitted it herself. I prefer to see what everyone comes up with after being given only minimal instructions about colour. In any event, this one will have to wait as there is no 100% green cotton in my stash. Of course, I will have to place an order online……

4 Comments Add yours

  1. reginamarti says:

    I’m very much looking forward to seeing your traveling scarf. I hope all goes well at the doctor’s. All the best!

    Like

    1. Thank you! As soon as my scarf turns up I will be posting pics šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jlathrop says:

    I’m really intrigued by this Travelling Scarf project. What a brilliant and fun idea! I can’t wait to see pictures. I hope the doctor’s appointment yields good results!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I will be posting photos of my scarf as soon as it turns up šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

