Bring on the product reviews

This week I have started knitting with a new yarn and bought two knitting magazines so I thought now a good time to share my thoughts.

Yesterday I began knitting a hat with Cascade Pacific in Christmas Red. Its 60% superwash merino wool and 40% acrylic, and not a bad price at £4.99 for 100g. Its really soft to the touch and knits up nicely with good stitch definition for the cables. Unfortunately the yarn split three rows into the ribbing and I had to cut the yarn and rejoin. Annoying. I hope this is just a case of me getting an unlucky break and not indicative of the type of yarn. I really like Cascade and I have another ball of Pacific ready to use for some aran socks. I dock mot relish the idea of having to continually rejoin yarn on socks.

The first magazine I bought this week was The Knitter. Its the 100th edition and it came with a bonus pattern book of 6 classic patterns. I like The Knitter  – it’s a bit more fashion forward than the more commercial magazines and the patterns are a little more challenging . The cover pattern is a beautiful Martin Storey cabled cardigan knitted in Rowan Summerlite 4ply, but it looks super complicated and I’m not sure I could manage it! I think I will give this one a go though:

WIN_20160813_091831This is beautiful and the body is just a moss stitch vest, and the knotted detailing is icords knotted together. The pattern calls for Rowan Summerlite 4ply for the body and Anchor Artiste Metallic for the shoulder and neck detail.

As well as some great patterns there is an article about Charlotte Bronte and her knitting, and a guide to Continental knitting (which make me nervous but I will try it one day using this guide). All in all The Knitter is a great buy and worth the £5.99 price tag.

The other magazine I bought was also an anniversary edition -Simply Knitting is 150 this month. It was slightly cheaper at only £4.99, and also had a bonus pattern leaflet as a free gift. I was a bit more disappointed with this magazine though. There are lots of patterns, but only a pair of socks that has been added to The List.

WIN_20160813_092553

This pattern calls for West Yorkshire Spinners Signature 4ply, which I am a big fan of, and I’m looking forward to giving these a go. Otherwise the patterns in this issue are a bit outdated and fussy for my tastes, and I’m not a big fan of things like pencil cases and felted cacti. Having said that the magazine always has some good articles and regular features, and if you are a fan of knitted toys and figures, there is always a fantastic Alan Dart pattern included.

For those of you who are regular readers I am still procrastinating over the Sublime Cotton Silk DK. I bought Mischief and Mayhem school coats instead (which combined were half of the price of the yarn even at 20% off), but I am still thinking about it’s beautiful soft and squishy-ness. I did, however, get a top tip from the lovely Julie at Knitted Bliss (have a look at her blog) – she told me about a yarn substitute website which will not only come in handy for this project but hopefully stop me from spending the GDP of a small nation on yarn in the coming months and years. Come back for a report on how I get on tomorrow.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jack says:

    I usually like simply knitting here in the US. I like the free gifts. I got a cute free notions bag from them once with cherries on it I adore! And bamboo needles! I like vogue knitting too, but again I live in the US xD

    Like

    1. The free gifts are usually pretty good here too – last month it was needle gauge. I’m dying to try a hard copy of Vogue Knitting – I can’t get on board with online magazines haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

