Knitty Deliveries

My blog is a little bit late today – apologies to those who like to read in the morning. I had an early job at a big supermarket first thing this morning, and then we have been to see my stepbrother, who comes to visit once a year (affectionately known as The Royal Visit). So the day has been full of catching up, eating and watching Mischief and Mayhem run riot.

What I really wanted to talk about today though is yesterday’s Wool Warehouse delivery. Regular readers will remember me making a order under extreme duress (cough cough) on Friday. Well, it came and I am. as usual, delighted.

Here’s what I bought

IMG_20160810_103511

Drops Baby Merino in Electric Blue. I’ve been wanting to buy this for a while  but this colour has been out of stock. It’s for a lace cardigan for myself (which means it will sit in my stash for the foreseeable future) which I saw in a knitting magazine – I will dig out the pattern and link it in a future blog. I used this yarn for the Soulmate shawl and loved it -I’ve been looking forward to using it again.

IMG_20160810_103531

Also Rico Essentials Soft Merino Aran in Brick Red. I really like the Rico Essentials range – they have some lovely yarns in a huge range of colours and are always great to knit with. This is 100% superwash merino and is £3.69 for 50g. I’m going to use this for some fingerless mitts.

IMG_20160810_103605

And finally, some Stylecraft Alpaca DK in Teal. This is going to be a shawl. I’ve never knitted with alpaca before, and I have heard mixed reviews, so I’m looking forward to starting this one. It’s 20% alpaca and 80% acrylic and is £3.49 for 100g.

I also got a free gift along with my order -a digital row counter – which I’m sure will come in handy. And can I just say, all Wool Warehouse orders come in these great organza bags, which make fantastic project bags!

IMG_20160810_103618

As far as knitting goes I don’t have much to report, other than work on the Ravelympic jumper continues and I hope to have an update at the weekend!

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Paula says:

    What an exciting order! I love the coloursl of the alpaca. I quite like knitting with alpaca when the yarn has a small content (like yours at just 20%), otherwise I find it too fuzzy. I swear it gets everywhere like my mouth and nose and gets stuck on my eyelashes! 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s what I heard about alpaca and it made me nervous haha. I will update on my progress once I get started 🙂

      Like

  2. Jack says:

    I am a new reader of your blog but I love reading it, lovely yarn order!! Can’t wait to see it all knit up!

    Like

    1. Thanks Jack! You may have to wait some time to see this knit up lol but I am steadily working through my stash ha ha

      Like

Leave a Reply

