Let the Games begin!

I did it. I stayed up and joined in the Mass Cast On during the Olympic Opening Ceremony. Coverage started at midnight in the UK, and ended around 4am. I didn’t see all of it. In fact, I didn’t really see much of it because, as I discovered, I’m not so good and knitting AND watching TV in the middle of the night. I don’t even want to look at the 5 rows I managed last night before admitting defeat. I know I dropped a stitch about half way along the 3rd row, and attempted to fix it, but I have no idea how successful it was. When I eventually pull myself round I will have a look and try and get some more work done on it.

Mischief and Mayhem are blissfully unaware that I was up knitting in the middle of the night and, true to form, got up at 6am. They are currently arguing over what film to watch, of course. I do get a brief respite from the madness today – I go to Work and they run riot at my parents instead of home. I have a super busy work today today –Mammywithmakeup is coming with me so at least its not as solitary as it usually is. That being said I would much rather sit in my parents conservatory, knit and drink tea.

Yesterday was a bit of a busy day and I didn’t get round to finishing the wash mitt (although I think I’ll enter it in the WIP for the Ravelympics and finish it when I need a break from the jumper). I did get a surprise delivery of Simply Stylish Knitting – which came with a cushion kit – and I bought the new Lets Knit. To be honest, I was a little disappointed with both. Out of four issues of Simply Stylish Knitting there are only two patterns I want to knit – a rug and a cushion cover – and only one in Lets Knit (a Katya Frankel pair of socks). In a way this is a good thing because my list of future projects is getting out of hand, but I do like to get my money’s worth where magazines are concerned. The knit kits are always good though – I sent the cushion kit next door, and I send the toys kits out to Ravelry Special Delivery recipients.

Tomorrow I’m sure I will feel brave enough to post a photo of my midnight knitting so watch this space!

Leave a Reply

